Firm News

Sowell Gray members Cundari and Watson honored at Leadership in Law awards

Sowell Gray Stepp & Laffitte, LLC, is pleased to announce that two of its members – Tina Cundari and Cal Watson – were honored at the South Carolina Lawyers Weekly’s 2015 Leadership in Law awards dinner held Thursday, March 12, 2015, in Charleston, SC.

The Leadership in Law award honors outstanding members of South Carolina’s legal community who work to better the legal profession through mentoring and involvement in the community. The honorees are professionals who consistently go above and beyond in their work.

“We are incredibly proud that both Tina and Cal have received this special honor,” said Betsy Gray “They have each made significant contributions to the legal profession and to our community. Their leadership and professionalism are a credit to our firm, our field, and our state.”

Cundari practices in the areas of commercial litigation, professional liability and ethics, and appellate law.  Named one of the “20 Under 40” by The State Newspaper in 2012, she has been named a South Carolina “Super Lawyer” Rising Star in the area of business litigation in 2012, 2013, and 2014. She currently serves as president of the John Belton O’Neall Inn of Court, and is the immediate past chair of the Board of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Columbia.

Watson’s practice focuses on commercial litigation, business dispute resolution, and professional liability and ethics. He has been named a South Carolina “Super Lawyer” for seven consecutive years, has been listed in Best Lawyers in America yearly since 2008, and has been listed in Chambers USA America’s Leading Lawyers for Business since 2009.

Watson currently serves as President of the South Carolina Bar.  In addition, he has been a member of the South Carolina Bar’s House of Delegates since 1997 and has twice served on the South Carolina Bar Board of Governors. He is past president of the South Carolina Bar Foundation, the John Belton O’Neall Inn of Court, and Historic Columbia Foundation.