Appellate

An appeal is often necessary to bring an end to a case and to achieve the right result. Trial courts must resolve large volumes of cases quickly, making it difficult to decide legal issues correctly. By comparison, appellate courts handle much smaller caseloads over a longer period of time and are able to focus on select issues. These courts also consider the impact their decision will have on your case as well as cases that arise in the future.

At Robinson Gray, our lawyers have the knowledge and experience to determine which issues should be raised on appeal and how to best present those issues in writing and oral argument. Many of Robinson Gray’s lawyers are former state and federal appellate court law clerks who understand how to craft written arguments that resonate with appellate judges. Words are weapons of the law, and a well written brief or oral argument can make a difference.

At Robinson Gray we handle all matters pending in federal and state appellate courts, including amici appearances and petitions for certiorari before the United States and South Carolina Supreme Courts. In addition, Robinson Gray offers other appellate services.

An attorney from Robinson Gray can join your team during or after trial to help with preserving issues for appeal or drafting post-trial motions. Robinson Gray can also arrange a panel of mock judges to review your briefs and put the attorney handling your appeal through the proverbial gauntlet to ensure you are ready for oral argument.

Whether we tried the case or are retained later, we have the skills and experience necessary to handle the appellate phase in a way that is best calculated to achieve success.

Grady Beard

Member

gbeard@robinsongray.com
P (803) 231-7824

Kevin Bell

Member

kbell@robinsongray.com
P (803) 227-1111

Molly Campolong

Associate

mcampolong@robinsongray.com
P (803) 227-1127

Sarah Frierson

Associate

sfrierson@robinsongray.com
P (803) 231-7829

Ben Gooding

Member

bgooding@robinsongray.com
P (803) 231-7821

Rachel Hutchens

Of Counsel

rhutchens@robinsongray.com
P (803) 231-7823

Jasmine Smith

Associate

jsmith@robinsongray.com
P (803) 231-7841

Bobby Stepp

Member

rstepp@robinsongray.com
P (803) 231-7836

Lisle Traywick

Associate

ltraywick@robinsongray.com
P (803) 231-7810