P (803) 231-7838
Rob is a member of the firm and practices in the areas of business litigation, administrative and regulatory law, and election law. Rob has represented clients before the South Carolina Supreme Court and other levels of state and federal courts, and has appeared before many local and state government entities.

He has litigated complex constitutional issues, election law issues, and numerous business disputes. Rob provides counsel on ethics matters including representation before the South Carolina Ethics Commission and the Legislature’s Ethics Committees. He has litigated numerous election disputes, with clients including incumbents, challengers, county election commissions and other interested stakeholders. He often appears before local government councils, boards and commissions on issues ranging from procurement to annexation matters. After the 2010 Census was released, Rob represented government entities in redistricting challenges. As co-counsel for the South Carolina House of Representatives, he defended the House redistricting plans at the trial court level and through the appeal to the United States Supreme Court.

Rob also has extensive experience in matters involving utility companies representing clients in rate proceedings and other regulatory matters before the South Carolina Public Service Commission.

Rob is also a South Carolina Certified Mediator. As part of his service to the community, Rob regularly volunteers for the Midlands Mediation Center, a group that provides mediators for small claim matters in magistrate court.
  • South Carolina Bar
  • Mississippi Bar
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
  • U.S. District Court for the District of South Carolina
  • U.S. District Court of Mississippi
  • U.S. Supreme Court
  • University of Mississippi School of Law, J.D. (1987)
  • University of Tennessee, B.A. (1983)
  • American Bar Association
    • Member, Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice Section (2009-2015)
  • Richland County Bar Association
  • University of South Carolina School of Law
    • Professor, Election Law (2020-present)
  • South Carolina Bar
    • House of Delegates (2008-present)
    • Chair, Government Law Section (2008-2010)
    • Former Member, Professional Responsibility Committee
    • Former Member, Practice & Procedure Committee
    • Former Member, Administrative & Regulatory Committee
  • Federal Bar Association
    • Member, Litigation Committee
  • South Carolina Defense Trial Attorneys’ Association
    • Board of Directors (2013-present)
    • Chair, Legislative Committee
    • Speaker/Breakout Leader, Trial Academy
    • Presenter, Annual Meeting
  • South Carolina Administrative and Regulatory Law Association
  • Supreme Court of South Carolina Certified Mediator
  • South Carolina Lawyers Weekly Leadership in Law Awards Lawyer of the Year (2018)
  • South Carolina Lawyers Weekly Leadership in Law Honoree (2018)
  • Best Lawyers in America
    • Commercial Litigation (2019-2022)
    • Administrative/Regulatory Law (2021-2022)
    • Litigation-Trusts and Estates (2021-2022)
  • South Carolina “Super Lawyers”
    • Civil Litigation – Defense (2022)
  • ELECT Blog: Election Law Essays on Current Topics
  • “Qualifications for Coroners,” S.C. Association of Coroners (March 2018)
  • “Legal Challenges to State Redistricting Practices,” Rotary Club of Five Points (February 2018)
  • The Election Process” SC Lawyer (September 2016)
  • “Redistricting — should I stay or should I go?” MASC Uptown (October 2011)
  • “Tweeting and Friending and Following….Oh My!”  SCDTAA The Defense Line (Vol 38 Number 2 — Summer, 2010)
  • Greater Columbia Chamber of Commerce
  • Leukemia Society, Light the Night Walk
    • Recognized as Outstanding Volunteer (2014, 2015)
  • Richland County School District One
    • Former Commissioner (2006-2012)
  • Shandon United Methodist Church
    • Youth Sunday School teacher
    • Confirmation Mentor
    • Former Committee Chair, Council on Ministries
  • South Carolina Chamber of Commerce
    • Member, Education & Workforce Committee